It Could Be Worse

In this cyber world, wherever I go and most of what I read, seems to be assuring me that my beliefs are a total waste of space. I keep getting told that the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is doomed and that it is only a matter of time before it is swept down the plughole of history to oblivion.

Allegedly, all the institutions of my country are corrupt beyond repair. We have, apparently, been swamped by unrestricted immigration to the point where we could never recover any semblance of national pride or identity. We have sold our soul to Political Correctness, the ‘EUSSR’ and a thousand other modern snares and delusions. Our children are ill-educated, feral louts, etc, etc, etc, etc.

In particular, people who have chosen to live elsewhere, or who have never lived here in the first place, seem to believe that they have an unqualified right and/or duty to lecture me in detail about everything that they perceive to be be wrong with my country. I would not do it to them, so I fail to understand why they feel the need to do it to me.

Whatever. I can and will only ever speak from my own experience. I still think that I live in a civilised and tolerant country and that I was fairly lucky to be born British/Scots as I could have done a lot worse in the great lottery of life, in my opinion.

The next generation of my family and the children of my friends are, almost without exception, a joy and I have every confidence in them. I know that my country will survive and prosper and am happy to pass the flame on to them.

So, just call me Pollyanna! I will continue to believe, however, that I am not wrong.

3 responses to “It Could Be Worse

  1. This is a test; it is not a testing reply.
    đŸ™‚

  2. Well there we are,

  3. CI My apologies. I don’t do censorship. It’s just that I’m not very good at checking incoming comments as this site would appear to require.

    Fill your boots and say whatever you want.

Leave a Reply

